Top Five Country Songs of 2013

I have a not so secret love for country music. I am eagerly awaiting Dolly Parton’s concert in June 2014, spent more nights than I care to admit line dancing during my year in Texas, and can put on a pretty mean drawl during karaoke. I am truly a country music tragic.

country

There has been a lot of criticism of mainstream country music in the last few years, and those critiques definitely have a valid point. But rather than focusing on the more sub-par examples of the genre, I’d like to concentrate on the best country music of 2013 – my personal picks for songs that made my heart happy.

It’s been a great year for women in country and while I didn’t set out to compile an all-female list, sometimes it be that way (Jewel’s 2001 song of the same title is another great number to check out).

In the words of Brad Paisley, “THIS is Country Music”.

1. Kacey Musgraves – Follow Your Arrow

“Just follow your arrow
Wherever it points, yeah
Follow your arrow
Wherever it points”

2. Pistol Annies – I Hope You’re the End of my Story

“I’ll keep on turning the pages
Oh what a story to tell
You’ll still be my sweetheart when everything ages,
You’ll be the last book on the shelf”

3. Brandy Clark – Take a Little Pill

“You don’t need a needle
You don’t need a vein
No burn like whiskey
No cross like cocaine
If you ever lose a lover
Or you wanna lose some weight
What you can’t cure
You can medicate”

4. Ashley Monroe – Like a Rose

“I was only thirteen when Daddy died
Mama started drinking, and my brother just quit trying
I’m still bouncing back, Heaven only knows
How I came out like a rose”

5. Patty Griffin – Wild Old Dog

“It’s lonely on the highway
Sometimes a heart can turn to dust
Get whittled down to nothing
Broken down and crushed
In with the bones of wild old dogs”